Country context

At its independence in 1960, Côte d'Ivoire experienced a strong economic boom, mainly focused on the production of coffee and cocoa. From 1990 onwards, the country experienced a serious political and military crisis lasting two decades, which greatly slowed down its economic and social development. During this same period, Côte d'Ivoire experienced strong population growth, from 12 million inhabitants in 1990 to 23 million in 2016. At the end of the crisis, in 2010, Côte d'Ivoire began a slow process of national reconciliation, economic recovery and the fight against poverty.
Since 2011, the country has experienced some political stability, confirmed by the smooth re-election of President Alassane Ouattara in 2015. Côte d'Ivoire is now returning to dynamic economic growth (average annual GDP growth rate of 8.5% between 2012 and 2015). This economic upturn, however, does not translate into a reduction in poverty, the rate of which remained at 46% in 2015 (despite the Ivorian president's goal of halving it). Côte d'Ivoire's human development index of 0.45 ranks the country 172nd out of 188.. The fight against poverty remains a real challenge. Finally, it is important to point out that 54% of the population of Côte d'Ivoire lives in urban areas today, when the Global Risks Annual Report 2015 states that "40% of urban growth is in slums".

Local Partners

DJI NI SII (DNS) ("water and long life"), is the Ivorian social enterprise, created by Eau et Vie in 2016, to ensure the distribution of running water in slums, in partnership with the local water concessionaire. The social enterprise has the particularity of collecting water bill payments every fortnight via a door-to-door proximity service. The connections (counters) are offered at a social rate in the payment is staggered in time. The purpose of the company is to support the beneficiaries / customers so that in the long run they can switch back to the national operator system.


EAU ET VIE COTE D’IVOIRE (EVCI), an Ivorian association created in 2014, is in charge of developing training courses on hygiene and the environment, fire prevention and community strengthening and ensuring the implementation of waste collection services and improved sanitation. W & L conducts the surveys and measures the impact of the actions on the living conditions of the inhabitants. The NGO also carries out advocacy actions with local authorities, which are essential for the proper functioning of projects.


Projects

Project History

In 2013 and 2014, Eau et Vie conducted a feasibility study to start its activities in Côte d'Ivoire. The needs on the ground and the reception by the local authorities and communities led to the sending of a first expatriate in 2015. The local association, Eau et Vie Côte d’Ivoire, and the social enterprise, Dji Ni Sii, were created. Due to the numerous construction and urbanization projects launched by the government and its partners, numerous surveys are taking place between April 2015 and March 2016 to definitively decide the choice of intervention areas, including Djidan 1 for the pilot project. . In the process, Eau et Vie Côte d'Ivoire has signed a Framework Agreement with the National Office of Drinking Water and Eau et Vie Côte d'Ivoire for the launch of the pilot project.

Current Projects

In June 2016, a partnership was signed with the ONEP (National Office of Drinking Water), under the auspices of the Ministry of Economic Infrastructure (MIE), to start a project in a precarious first district of Abidjan. The neighborhood of Gbamnan Djidan 1 in the municipality of Yopougon was selected by all partners. Approximately 528 households (2000 inhabitants). A baseline survey was conducted in Gbamnan Djidan 1 showing that more than 95% of the inhabitants are sourcing from informal water retailers and less than 5% are connected to the local operator, SODECI (Water Distribution Company of Côte d'Ivoire). During 2016, the teams of Eau et Vie Côte d'Ivoire and Dji Ni Sii were strengthened, with the recruitment of the expatriate program manager in charge of the activities of the NGO Eau et Vie Côte d'Ivoire. 'Ivoire and 3 local executives. The headquarters of EVCI and DNS have been installed in Yopougon, in order to be closer to the local communities. Talks are underway with SODECI to be able to connect to its network and start construction of the first water network in Djidan 1.

Key figures – Ongoing Projects

A project on the Ivory Coast:

  • Urban precarious district of Djidan 1 (Abidjan), where 528 families live.
  • Start hygiene of the awareness and fight against fire activities
  • Reference surveys

Contexte du pays

A son indépendance en 1960, la Côte d’Ivoire connaît un fort essor économique, essentiellement axé sur la production de café et de cacao. A partir de 1990, le pays connaît une grave crise politique et militaire qui durera 2 décennies, ce qui a fortement ralenti son développement économique et social. Au cours de cette même période, la Côte d’Ivoire connaît une forte croissance démographique, passant de 12 millions d’habitants en 1990 à 23 millions en 2016. A la fin de la crise, en 2010, la Côte d’Ivoire entame un processus lent de réconciliation nationale, de relance économique et de lutte contre la pauvreté.
Depuis 2011, le pays connaît une certaine stabilité politique , confirmée par la réélection sans heurt du président Alassane Ouattara en 2015. La Côte d’Ivoire renoue aujourd’hui avec une croissance économique dynamique (taux de croissance moyen annuel du PIB de 8.5 % entre 2012 et 2015). Cette embellie économique ne se traduit cependant pas par une réduction de la pauvreté, dont le taux s’élevait toujours à 46 % en 2015 (malgré l’objectif du président ivoirien de le réduire de moitié). L’indice de développement humain de la Côte d’Ivoire de 0.45 positionne le pays 172ème rang sur 188 . La lutte contre la pauvreté reste donc un véritable défi . Enfin, il est important de souligner que 54 % de la population ivoirienne vit aujourd’hui en zone urbaine , quand le rapport annuel Global Risks de Davos 2015 indique que « 40% de la croissance urbaine se fait dans les bidonvilles ».

Partenaires locaux

DJI NI SII (DNS) (« eau et longue vie »), est l’entreprise sociale ivoirienne, créée par Eau et Vie en 2016, pour assurer la distribution d’eau courante dans les bidonvilles, en partenariat avec le concessionnaire d’eau local. L’entreprise sociale a pour particularité de collecter les paiements des factures d’eau tous les quinze jours via un service de proximité en porte a porte. Les branchements (compteurs) sont proposés a un tarif social dans le paiement est échelonné dans le temps. L’entreprise a pour but d’accompagner les bénéficiaires/clients afin qu’a terme ils puissent rebasculer sur le système de l’opérateur national.


EAU ET VIE COTE D’IVOIRE (EVCI), association ivoirienne créée en 2014, elle est chargée de développer des formations sur l’hygiène et l’environnement, la prévention incendie et le renforcement communautaire et d’assurer la mise en place des services de collecte des déchets et d’assainissement améliorés. W&L conduit les enquêtes et mesure l’impact des actions sur les conditions de vie des habitants. L’ONG mène également des actions de plaidoyer auprès des autorités locales, qui sont indispensables au bon fonctionnement des projets.


Les projets

Historique des projets

En 2013 et 2014, Eau et Vie a conduit une étude de faisabilité pour démarrer ses activités en Côte d’Ivoire. Les besoins sur le terrain et l’accueil par les autorités et communautés locales ont conduit à l’envoi d’un premier expatrié en 2015. L’association locale, Eau et Vie Côte d’Ivoire, et l’entreprise sociale, Dji Ni Sii, ont été créées. En raison des nombreux projets de construction et d’urbanisation lancés par le gouvernement et ses partenaires, de nombreuses prospections ont lieu entre avril 2015 et mars 2016 afin d’arrêter définitivement le choix des quartiers d’intervention, dont Djidan 1 pour le projet pilote. Dans la foulée, Eau et Vie Côte d’Ivoire a signé un Accord-cadre avec l’Office National de l’Eau Potable et Eau et Vie Côte d’Ivoire en vue du lancement du projet pilote.

Projets en cours

En juin 2016, un partenariat a été signé avec L’ONEP (Office National de l’Eau Potable), sous l’égide du MIE (Ministère des Infrastructures Économiques), pour démarrer un projet dans un premier quartier précaire d’Abidjan. Le quartier de Gbamnan Djidan 1 sur la commune de Yopougon a été retenu par l’ensemble des partenaires. Environ 528 ménages (2000 habitants).Une enquête de référence a été conduite à Gbamnan Djidan 1 montrant que plus de 95 % des habitants se fournissent auprès des revendeurs d’eau informels et que moins de 5 % sont raccordés à l’opérateur local, la SODECI (Société de Distribution d’Eau de la Côte d’Ivoire). Au cours de l’année 2016, les équipes d’Eau et Vie Côte d’Ivoire et de Dji Ni Sii ont été renforcées, avec le recrutement de la responsable de programme expatriée en charge des activités de l’ONG Eau et Vie Côte d’Ivoire et de 3 cadres locaux. Les sièges de EVCI et DNS ont été installés à Yopougon, afin d’être au plus proches des communautés locales. Les pourparlers sont en cours avec la SODECI pour pouvoir se raccorder sur son réseau et lancer la construction du premier réseau d’eau dans Djidan 1.

Chiffres clés - Projets en cours

Un projet en Côte d'Ivoire :

  • Quartier précaire urbain de Djidan 1 (Abidjan), où vivent 528 familles.
  • Démarrage des actions de sensibilisation hygiène et lutte anti-incendie
  • Enquêtes de référence