Country Context

Bangladesh, due to its geophysical characteristics and the exploitation of its resources, is one of the most vulnerable countries to climate change in the world. The high population density exacerbates the impact of local disasters but also the phenomenon of massive migration to cities. The Bangladesh Human Development Index of 0.58 places the country 139th out of 188. The issue of water and access to basic services is central. In fact, 19% of the country's inhabitants do not have access to a source of drinking water, and 44% do not have access to a functioning sanitation system, which results in:
  • poor health conditions, the development of diseases such as diarrhea, cholera, malaria, or parasitic worm infections. About 125,000 children under five die of diarrhea each year in Bangladesh.
  • Environmental degradation, with groundwater and surface water contamination by wastewater.
  • high inequalities and tensions among the most disadvantaged.

  • Local partners

    SHOBAR JONNO PANI (SJP) (« Water for All ») is the Bangladeshi social enterprise created in 2010 by Eau et Vie, to ensure the supply of running water in precarious neighborhoods, in partnership with local concessionaires. The SJP project is part of the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) defined in 2015 by the Member States of the United Nations. Access to clean water and sanitation is the theme of the sixth SDG.


    WATER AND LIFE BANGLADESH (W&L) is an NGO created by Eau et Vie, registered in the Bangladeshi office of international NGOs. It is responsible for developing training on hygiene and the environment, fire prevention and community strengthening and ensuring the implementation of improved waste collection and sanitation services. W & L conducts the surveys and measures the impact of the actions on the living conditions of the inhabitants. The NGO also carries out advocacy actions with local authorities, which are essential for the proper functioning of projects.


    The Project

    Project History

    Since 2010, Eau et Vie has been working in Bhashantek, a slum in Bangladesh's capital, Dhaka. The social enterprise Shobar Jonno Pani (SJP) and Water and Life Bangladesh (W & L) are working hand-in-hand in the Bhashantek slum. SJP provides construction and maintenance of water systems in slums and is responsible for the distribution of running drinking water and collection of payments. For its part, W & L is developing training courses on hygiene, the environment and fire prevention, and aims to strengthen neighborhood committees and set up sanitation, fire prevention and waste collection services. The social enterprise SJP first installed the water network in the slum in 2012, in collaboration with the local NGO Water and Life Bangladesh. In 2014, a pilot project of waste management was tested. This project was rolled out in 2016 and will become mandatory for all SJP clients in 2017. At the end of 2016, half of the slum is connected to the water network. Finally, Eau et Vie launched the activities of a new program in Chittagong, the second largest city in the country.

    Ongoing Projects

  • Dhaka: Bashantek
  • Chittagong: 9 Number Bridge
  • Following Project

    The extension of the water network to the second half of the Bhashantek slum and 9 Number Bridge represents future challenges for SJP. The objective is then to deploy the water network on other slums, around existing ones. The waste service will have to be set up in Chittagong, following the conduct of a feasibility study and an assessment of it in Dhaka will extend it to all households in the slum. Regarding sanitation, rehabilitation and construction of several toilets and planned in Bhashantek, drawing on the model tested. For its part, the NGO W & L Bangladesh continues to develop and intensify hygiene awareness and fire-fighting activities.

    Key Figures - Ongoing Projects

    2 projects in Bangladesh:

    • Bhashantek (Dhaka) precarious urban district, home to 3,300 families, including 1,470 households already benefiting from SJP and W&L services. In 2018, it is planned to cover the entire neighborhood
    • Urban precarious district Nine number bridge (Chittagong), where 500 families live including 213 households already benefiting from SJP and W&L services .

    Access to drinking water at home (June 2017):

    • 7,331 people connected.
    • 12 connected public places: 900 daily users.

    People trained in fire fighting:

    • Dhaka: 120 volunteers divided into 12 brigades.
    • Chittagong: 21 volunteers divided into 4 brigades.

    Beneficiaries of waste collection at home:

    • 730 families.

    Sanitation:

    • 5,414 km of cemented driveways.
    • 1 block of 9 ecological Biofill latrines used by 100 people and 3 individual latrines used by 36 people

    Community building:

    • Sessions promoting hygiene and environmental protection in the community and in schools in the inner city.
    • Organization of the "World Handwashing Day" and two "Neighborhood Cleaning Day" per year.
    • Edition of a children's book on hygiene education and communication tools on handwashing and firefighting.

    News

    A clown in Bhashantek

    A clown and laughter to raise hygiene awareness...

    Water flows!

    The people of Bhashantek are proud to have running water...

    Before running water

    "We used to get water through manual wells..."

Contexte du pays

Le Bangladesh, en raison de ses caractéristiques géophysiques et de l’exploitation de ses ressources, est l’un des pays les plus vulnérables aux changements climatiques au monde. L’importante densité de population exacerbe l’impact des catastrophes locales mais aussi le phénomène de migration massive vers les villes. L’indice de développement humain du Bangladesh de 0.58 place le pays au 149ème rang sur 197. La question de l’eau et de l’accès aux services de base est centrale. En effet, 19 % des habitants du pays n‘ont pas accès à une source d’eau potable, et 44 % n’ont pas accès à un système d’assainissement fonctionnel, ce qui engendre :
  • de mauvaises conditions de santé, le développement de maladies comme la diarrhée, le choléra, la malaria, ou les infections de vers parasitaires. Environ 125 000 enfants de moins de 5 ans meurent de diarrhée chaque année au Bangladesh.
  • une dégradation de l’environnement, avec une contamination des eaux souterraines et de surface par les eaux usées.
  • de fortes inégalités et des tensions chez les plus défavorisés.

  • Partenaires locaux

    SHOBAR JONNO PANI (SJP) (« L’eau pour tous ») est l’entreprise sociale bangladaise créée en 2010 par Eau et Vie, pour assurer la distribution d’eau courante dans les quartiers précaires, en partenariat avec les concessionnaires locaux. Le projet de SJP s'inscrit dans les Objectifs de Développement Durable (ODD) définis en 2015 par les Etats Membres de l’Organisation des Nations Unies. L’accès à l’eau propre et à l’assainissement est le thème du sixième ODD.


    WATER AND LIFE BANGLADESH (W&L) est une ONG créée par Eau et Vie, enregistrée au bureau bangladais des ONG internationales. Elle est chargée de développer des formations sur l’hygiène et l’environnement, la prévention incendie et le renforcement communautaire et d’assurer la mise en place des services de collecte des déchets et d’assainissement améliorés. W&L conduit les enquêtes et mesure l’impact des actions sur les conditions de vie des habitants. L’ONG mène également des actions de plaidoyer auprès des autorités locales, qui sont indispensables au bon fonctionnement des projets.


    Les projets

    Historique des projets

    Depuis 2010, Eau et Vie intervient à Bhashantek, bidonville de la capitale du Bangladesh, Dhaka. L’entreprise sociale Shobar Jonno Pani (SJP) et l’association Water and Life Bangladesh (W&L) travaillent main dans la main dans le bidonville de Bhashantek. SJP assure la construction et l’entretien des réseaux d’eau dans les bidonvilles et est responsable de la distribution d’eau potable courante et de la collecte des paiements. De son côté, W&L développe des formations sur l’hygiène, l’environnement et la prévention incendie et vise le renforcement des comités de quartiers et la mise en place des services d’assainissement, de lutte-incendie et de collecte des déchets. L’entreprise sociale SJP a d’abord installé le réseau d’eau dans le bidonville en 2012, en collaboration avec l’ONG locale Water and Life Bangladesh. En 2014, un projet pilote de gestion des déchets a été testé et devrait être rendu obligatoire pour tous les clients de SJP. Pour compléter l'offre de services essentiels, un projet pilote de latrines écologiques a été inauguré en 2017 et a pour vocation d'être étendu à l'ensemble du bidonville. Les premières toilettes sont écologiques (biofil) et comprennent, l’accès à l’eau, à l’électricité et aux personnes à mobilité réduite. Les toilettes sont privatisées pour des familles (maximum 12 personnes par toilette), qui paient une redevance. Le drainage des eaux grises et la vidange des latrines sont organisés. Enfin, Eau et Vie a lancé les activités d’un nouveau programme à Chittagong, la deuxième ville du pays, peuplée de 2,5 millions habitants. L’opérateur local et les différentes parties prenantes soutiennent la mise en place du projet.

    Projets en cours

  • Dhaka : Bhashantek.
  • Chittagong : 9 Number Bridge.
  • Suite des projets

    L'extension du réseau d'eau à la deuxième moitié du bidonville de Bhashantek et de 9 Number Bridge, représente de futurs défis pour SJP. L'objectif est ensuite de déployer le réseau d'eau sur d'autres bidonvilles, autour de ceux existants. Le service déchet devra être mis en place à Chittagong, suite à la conduite d'une étude de faisabilité et une évaluation de celui-ci à Dhaka permettra de l'étendre à tous les ménages du bidonville. Concernant l’assainissement, la réhabilitation et construction de plusieurs toilettes et prévue à Bhashantek, en s'inspirant sur le modèle testé.

    De son côté, l'ONG W&L Bangladesh continue de développer et intensifier les activités de sensibilisation à l'hygiène et de lutte anti-incendie.

    Chiffres clés - Projets en cours

    2 projets au Bangladesh :

    • Quartier précaire urbain de Bhashantek (Dhaka), où vivent 3 300 familles, dont 1 470 qui sont connectées à l'eau potable courante à domicile.
    • Quartier précaire urbain Nine number bridge (Chittagong), où vivent un peu plus de 500 familles, dont 213 qui sont connectées à l'eau potable courante à domicile.

    Accès à l’eau potable à domicile :

    • 7 331 personnes connectées.
    • 12 lieux publics raccordés : 900 utilisateurs quotidiens.

    Personnes formées à la lutte anti-incendie :

    • Dhaka : 110 volontaires répartis en 12 brigades.
    • Chittagong : 21 volontaires répartis en 4 brigades.

    Bénéficiaires de la collecte des déchets à domicile :

    • 730 familles.

    Assainissement :

    • 5 414 km d’allées cimentées.
    • 1 bloc de 9 latrines écologiques Biofil, utilisé par 100 personnes et 3 latrines individuelles, utilisées par 36 personnes.

    Sensibilisation à l'hygiène et à l'environnement :

    • Sessions de promotion de l’hygiène et de protection de l’environnement auprès de la communauté et dans les écoles du quartier défavorisé urbain.
    • Organisation de la « Journée Mondiale du Lavage des Mains » et de deux « Journée de Nettoyage du quartier » par an.
    • Edition d’un livre pour enfant sur l’éducation à l’hygiène et outils de communication sur le lavage des mains et la lutte anti-incendie.

    Actualités

    Un clown à Bhashantek

    Un clown et du rire pour sensibiliser la population à l'hygiène...

    L'eau coule à Bhashantek

    Les habitants sont fiers d'avoir de l'eau courante...

    3, 2, 1... Eau !

    Le compte à rebours est lancé dans le bidonville de Bhashantek...

    Un océan d'espoir

    Les sons des pioches rythme désormais la vie à Bhashantek...

    Pages