Access to water: a daily struggle

In developing countries, access to running water remains a CRITICAL NEED for the most vulnerable populations. Usually abandoned by urban policies, slums do not benefit sustainable access to running water. Its inhabitants face a major problem: insufficient quantities of poor quality water. Water issues lead to numerous tensions: water is expensive, most often far from houses, difficult to carry and generates many problems and health expenses. Women and children are usually responsible for fetching water. Several times a days they must carry heavy loads between their house and the water point. Fetching water is extremely time-consuming as people face daily queuing and water cuts issues.

To remedy public services failures, alternative water access systems are implemented: hacking of official water networks, illegal water dealers, public or private wells... Network hacking degrade water pressure and quality of official networks. The whole network is thus contaminated with latrines, sewerage water, wastes... Illegal water dealers charge much higher prices compared to official prices. They are often organised into ‘mafia’ gangs, puting pressure on families. Water quality from public or private wells, or sold by illegal dealers is rarely tested but it is most often unfit for human consumption. It causes numerous diseases (diarrhea, cholera, dengue, pneumonia...).


Eau et Vie respond

Eau et Vie creates local social businesses operating in water distribution. The local company thus created, builds up water networks, distributes water throughout the slums and provides related services, including billing services and network maintenance. It aims to CONNECT EVERY HOUSEHOLD, SCHOOL AND HEALTHCARE CENTER of the area to an individual meter.

The social business operates in areas where official distributors cannot meet their profitability standards. 80% of their personnel (plumbers, collectors...) are recruited within the slum. Work methods are adapted to the community proper functioning (for instance payment collection is organised on a daily or weekly basis).
Water access price is calculated to be affordable for families and cover the agency’s operating expenses. Each agency aims financial and organisational sustainability, for sustainable actions. When the business meets profitability rate, all profits are either reinvested to continue water supply activities either allocated to a community fund.

Social businesses

Two local social businesses were created: Tubig-Pag Asa (“Water for Hope”) in Philippines and Shobar Jonno Pani (“Water for All”) in Bangladesh.

The World Health Organization advocates for a minimum of 20 liters of water per person and per day to meet critical needs. Decent living requires 50 liters of water per person and per day. Comfort level is reached from 100 liters onward per person and per day.

Data are however alarming:

Over 1 billion people in the world have no access to safe drinking water.

Every 8 seconds, a child dies from a lake of safe drinking water.

2 billion people die each year from water quality related diseases.

Source: Oxfam

The lowest drinking water distribution rates are recorded in subsaharian Africa (58%) and in the Pacific Rim (52%), nevertheless Asia holds the highest number of people lacking access to safe drinking water.

Source: UNICEF

News

Video reportage

Highlight of the methodology that enables access to water...

Reporting from Cebu

Movie: a few minutes in the Lower Tipolo slum...

Water flows!

The people of Bhashantek are proud to have running water...

Eau et Vie reportage

Fonds Suez Environnement Initiatives highlights Eau et Vie's activities...

Pages

L'accès à l’eau : une difficulté quotidienne

Dans les pays en voie de développement, l’accès à l’eau est l’un des BESOINS CRUCIAUX des populations les plus vulnérables. Généralement délaissés des politiques publiques urbaines, les bidonvilles ne disposent pas d’une distribution en eau durable. Leurs habitants font face à un problème critique : une eau en quantité insuffisante et de mauvaise qualité. L’eau génère de nombreuses tensions : elle est chère, souvent éloignée des maisons, difficile à transporter et cause de nombreux problèmes et dépenses de santé. La corvée d’eau est principalement effectuée par les femmes et les enfants qui doivent, plusieurs fois par jour, effectuer le trajet entre leur foyer et le point d’eau, lourdement chargés. Elle accapare beaucoup de temps : file d’attente et coupure d’eau sont quotidiennes elles aussi.

Pour remédier à l'absence des services publics, des systèmes d’approvisionnement parallèles se mettent en place : piratages du réseau officiel, revendeurs d’eau illégaux, puits publics ou privés… Les piratages illégaux dégradent la pression et la qualité du réseau officiel. L’ensemble du réseau se retrouve ainsi contaminé par les latrines, les eaux usées, les déchets… Les vendeurs d’eau illégaux pratiquent des prix bien supérieurs au tarif officiel. Ils forment souvent un système mafieux, source de pression pour les familles. La qualité de l’eau des puits, publics ou privés, et celle vendue par les revendeurs illégaux est rarement vérifiée mais souvent impropre à la consommation. Elle cause de nombreuses maladies (diarrhée, choléra, dengue, pneumonie…).


La réponse d'Eau et Vie

Eau et Vie crée des entreprises sociales locales de distribution d’eau. L'entreprise créée localement, construit le réseau d’eau et la distribue dans le bidonville en assurant tous les services associés, dont la facturation et l’entretien du réseau. L’objectif est de PROPOSER A CHAQUE FAMILLE, ECOLE ET CENTRE DE SANTE un raccordement individuel.

L’entreprise sociale intervient dans les quartiers où le distributeur officiel ne parvient pas à travailler selon ses normes de rentabilité. Le personnel (plombiers, collecteurs…) est recruté à 80 % dans le quartier. La méthode de travail est adaptée au fonctionnement de la communauté (par exemple la collecte des paiements est journalière ou hebdomadaire).

Le prix de l’accès à l’eau est calculé de manière à être accessible pour les familles, en général beaucoup moins cher que les revendeurs informels, et à couvrir les frais de fonctionnement de l’agence. Le coût du raccordement, qui représente le plus souvent une dépense insurmontable avec l'opérateur classique, est non seulement beaucoup moins cher, mais aussi associé à un mode de paiement étalé sur un an. Chaque agence vise la viabilité financière et organisationnelle, en vue de la pérennité de l’action. Lorsque le seuil de viabilité est atteint, les bénéfices de l’entreprise sont intégralement réinvestis pour poursuivre les activités d’adduction en eau ou destinés à alimenter un fonds communautaire.

Entreprises sociales

Deux entreprises sociales locales ont été créées : Tubig-Pag Asa (« Eau et l’Espoir ») aux Philippines et Shobar Jonno Pani (« Eau pour Tous ») au Bangladesh.

L'Organisation Mondiale de la Santé préconise un minimum vital de 20 litres d'eau par jour par personne pour répondre aux besoins fondamentaux. Vivre décemment nécessite 50 litres d'eau par jour par personne. Le confort est atteint à partir de 100 litres par personne par jour.

Les données sont pourtant alarmantes :

Plus d’un milliard de personnes dans le monde n’ont pas accès à l’eau potable.

Toutes les 8 secondes, un enfant meurt dans le monde faute de pouvoir accéder à de l’eau potable.

2 milliards de personnes meurent chaque année de maladies liées à la qualité de l’eau.

Source : Oxfam

Les taux de distribution d’eau potable les plus bas se trouvent en Afrique subsaharienne (58 %) et dans le Pacifique (52 %), mais c’est l’Asie qui a le plus grand nombre de personnes ne disposant pas d’eau potable.

Source : UNICEF

Actualités

Reportage vidéo

Mise en avant de la méthodologie permettant l'accès à l'eau...

Typhon : 2 ans après

Eau et Vie lance une campagne de financement participatif...

Reportage Cebu

Vidéo : quelques minutes au cœur du bidonville de Lower Tipolo...

L'eau coule à Bhashantek

Les habitants sont fiers d'avoir de l'eau courante...

Pages