Poor hygiene practices

Access to safe drinking water and a healthy environment is a first step towards reducing water and sanitation-related diseases (diarrhea, intestinal parasites, typhoid, malaria, hepatitis ...) and mortality. The installation of adapted equipment and the improvement of basic hygiene practices are therefore essential in precarious neighborhoods.

The promotion of good practices in hygiene, accompanied by awareness activities relayed locally and in the long term, allow a real change in behavior.

"Although people around the world wash their hands with water, very few use soap at critical moments (for example, after going to the bathroom, cleaning a child or touching food. ). Handwashing with soap is an effective and inexpensive way to prevent many diseases related to unsanitary conditions. However, although this act can save lives, washing hands with soap is rarely practiced.”

    Source : Global Hand Washing Day


Eau et Vie’s reponse to the issue

Eau et Vie provides AWARENESS SESSIONS to water and hygiene among the population: workshops in schools and in strategic areas of the neighborhood (house courtyards, highly frequented areas ...). These sessions focus on handwashing (organization of the "World Handwashing Day", distribution of soaps and hygiene kits), menstrual hygiene, household hygiene and storage and use of water.
A large part of these awareness sessions are aimed at young people, in nurseries or schools. The school is an important place in the awareness strategy for several reasons. Indeed, after the family it is the most important place of learning. Childhood is also a key moment to learn certain hygienic behaviors: what children retain is likely to be replicated in their lifetime, which promotes the sustainability of the impact of the project. Additionally, these are places that are particularly conducive to the development and transmission of diseases.

Eau et Vie CONNECTS THE DRINKING WATER NETWORK TO EACH SCHOOL AND PUBLIC PLACE (health centers, places of worship ...) and installs appropriate sanitation equipment (toilets, washbasins at the height of the children, drainage networks of waste water ...). These services are provided by the social enterprise at a price suitable for the population.


Local Associations

The hygiene and water awareness activities are implemented by the local associations (Water and Life Philippines, Water and Life Bangledesh and Eau et Vie Côte d'Ivoire , in partnership with the inhabitants and community associations, schools, town halls and local and international development actors.

"By 2030, to put an end to (…) malaria and other neglected tropical diseases and combat hepatitis, water-borne diseases and other communicable diseases."

    Goal 3 of the Sustainable Development Goals (United Nations)

"By 2030, to ensure fair access for all to adequate sanitation and hygiene services and end open defecation, with special attention to the needs of women and men. girls and people in vulnerable situations "

    Goal 6 of the Sustainable Development Goals (United Nations)

Even today, the data is alarming:

"2.6 million people die each year from lack of access to drinking water and sanitation, every 5 minutes."

"1.7 billion people are affected by diarrhea each year. More than 842,000 people - including 350,000 children under the age of five - die from it."

    Source : 2016 Barometer of Water, Hygiene & Sanitation, Solidarités International, 2016


News

A clown in Bhashantek

A clown and laughter to raise hygiene awareness...

Des pratiques d'hygiène défaillantes

L’accès à l’eau potable et à un environnement salubre est une première étape vers la réduction des maladies liées à l’eau et l’assainissement (diarrhées, parasitoses intestinales, typhoïde, paludisme, hépatites…) et a fortiori, de la mortalité. L’installation d’équipements adaptés et l’amélioration des pratiques d’hygiène de base sont donc indispensables dans les quartiers précaires.

La promotion des bonnes pratiques en matière d’hygiène, accompagnée d’activités de sensibilisation relayées localement et sur le long terme, permettent un véritable changement des comportements.

« Bien que les gens du monde entier se lavent les mains à l’eau, très peu d’entre eux utilisent du savon aux moments critiques (par exemple, après être allé aux toilettes, avoir nettoyé un enfant ou avant de toucher de la nourriture). Le lavage des mains au savon est un moyen efficace et bon marché de prévenir de nombreuses maladies liées à l’insalubrité. Cependant, bien que cet acte puisse sauver des vies, le lavage des mains au savon est rarement pratiqué »

    Source : Global Hand Washing Day


La réponse d'Eau et Vie

Eau et Vie dispense des SESSIONS DE SENSIBILISATION à l’eau et à l’hygiène auprès de la population: ateliers dans les écoles et dans les lieux stratégiques du quartier (cours des maisons, lieux de passage...). Ces sessions portent sur le lavage des mains (organisation de la « Journée Mondiale du Lavage des Mains », distribution de savons et de kits de produits d’hygiène), sur l’hygiène menstruelle, sur l’hygiène domestique et sur le stockage et l’utilisation de l’eau.
Une grande partie de ces sessions sont à destination du jeune public , dans les crèches ou établissements scolaires. L’école occupe une place importante dans la stratégie de sensibilisation pour plusieurs raisons. En effet, après la famille c’est le lieu d’apprentissage le plus important. L’enfance est également un moment clé pour apprendre certains comportements hygiéniques : ce que les enfants retiennent a de fortes chances d’être répliqué au cours de leur vie, ce qui favorise la durabilité de l’impact du projet. Enfin, ce sont des endroits particulièrement propices au développement et à la transmission de maladies.

Eau et Vie RACCORDE AU RESEAU D'EAU POTABLE CHAQUE ECOLE ET LIEU PUBLIC (centres de santé, lieux de culte…) et installe des équipements d’assainissement appropriés (toilettes, lavabos à hauteur des enfants, réseaux de drainage des eaux usées…). Ces services sont assurés par l’entreprise sociale à un prix adapté pour la population.


Associations locales

Les activités de sensibilisation à l’hygiène et à l’eau sont mises en œuvre par les associations locales (Water and Life Philippines, Water and Life Bangledesh et Eau et Vie Côte d'Ivoire ,en partenariat avec les habitants et associations communautaires, les écoles, les mairies et les acteurs locaux et internationaux du développement.

« D’ici 2030, mettre fin (…) au paludisme et aux autres maladies tropicales négligées et combattre l’hépatite, les maladies transmises par l’eau et autres maladies transmissibles. »

    Objectif 3 des Objectifs de Développement Durable (Nations Unies)

« D’ici 2030, assurer l’accès de tous, dans des conditions équitables, à des services d’assainissement et d’hygiène adéquats et mettre fin à la défécation en plein air, en accordant une attention particulière aux besoins des femmes et des filles et des personnes en situation vulnérable »

    Objectif 6 des Objectifs de Développement Durable (Nations Unies)

Aujourd'hui encore, les données sont alarmantes :

« 2,6 millions de personnes meurent chaque année du manque d’accès à l’eau potable et à l’assainissement, soit 5 toutes les minutes.»

«1,7 milliard de personnes sont affectées par des diarrhées chaque année. Plus de 842 000 personnes -dont 350.000 enfants de moins de 5 ans- en meurent.»

    Source : Baromètre 2016 de l’eau, de l’hygiène & de l’assainissement, Solidarités International, 2016


Actualités

Un clown à Bhashantek

Un clown et du rire pour sensibiliser la population à l'hygiène...

Education à l'hygiène

W&L a commencé ses activités de promotion de l’hygiène à Bhashantek...