The inhabitants: project actors

The local populations benefiting from the projects are STAKEHOLDERS of the activities set up by Eau et Vie. The inhabitants of precarious neighborhoods are involved in the implementation of activities to meet identified needs and improve their living conditions: they are not mere beneficiaries but actors with rights and expertise.

The inhabitants are involved at every stage of the projects:

  • 80% of the staff of the local teams come from the intervention areas.
  • If the community is not yet structured, elections of representatives of the population are organized.
  • Neighborhood representatives help identify needs and develop appropriate solutions.
  • Specific partnerships are set up with existing neighborhood associations (youth associations, women's associations, etc.)
  • The inhabitants actively participate in the implementation of the activities: they facilitate the obtaining of authorizations, resolve possible tensions with the illegal water resellers, participate in the organization of the events "Day of Cleaning of the district", "World Handwashing Day"...) and provide firefighting activities.
  • The inhabitants participate in trainings regarding awareness of hygiene, fire prevention, etc. contributing to capacity building (acquisition of knowledge and skills, improvement of self-esteem, group cohesion ...), which they then use their homes and communities.
  • Eau et Vie organizes thematic committees (fire, waste, sanitation, water ...) with the community representatives to take over the NGO after their departure. These committees will be the interlocutors of local authorities, local operators and the community for the various services.

Impacts of Water and Life in image: In the areas of intervention, residents are increasingly taking ownership of Eau et Vie's projects, taking initiatives themselves. District representatives spontaneously offered to meet regularly to clean neighborhood streets and close illegal wells. This type of civic initiative did not exist before the intervention of Eau et Vie.

The involvement of the population in the implementation of development projects is essential for the achievement and sustainability of actions and also contributes to community strengthening.

The projects are adapted to the needs of the populations because they are reflected and elaborated with the community, ensuring the sustainability of the actions.

The self-esteem of the population is strengthened thanks to the satisfaction of the project's success. The impact on the populations is considerable: aware that it can actively participate in the improvement of its living conditions, the community acquires a motivation and enthusiasm to fight for other causes.

Les habitants : acteurs des projets

Les populations locales bénéficiaires des projets sont PARTIES PRENANTES des activités mises en place par Eau et Vie . Les habitants des quartiers précaires sont impliqués dans la mise en œuvre des activités pour répondre aux besoins identifiés et améliorer leurs conditions de vie : ils ne sont pas de simples bénéficiaires mais des acteurs avec des droits et une expertise propre.

Les habitants sont impliqués à chaque étape des projets :

  • 80 % du personnel des équipes locales est issu des quartiers d’intervention.
  • Si la communauté n’est pas encore structurée, des élections de représentants de la population sont organisées.
  • Les représentants du quartier participent à l’identification des besoins et au développement de solutions adaptées.
  • Des partenariats spécifiques sont mis en place avec les associations de quartier existantes (associations de jeunes, associations de femmes…).
  • Les habitants participent activement à la mise en œuvre des activités : ils facilitent l’obtention d’autorisations, dénouent d’éventuelles tensions avec les revendeurs d’eau illégaux, participent à l’organisation des évènements « Journée de Nettoyage du quartier », « Journée mondiale du lavage des mains »...) et assurent les activités de lutte incendie..
  • Les habitants suivent des formations (sensibilisation à l’hygiène, prévention incendie...), contribuant au renforcement des capacités (acquisition de savoirs et de compétences, amélioration de l’estime de soi, cohésion de groupe…), qu’ils mettent ensuite à profit au service de leurs foyers et de leur communauté.
  • Eau et Vie organise avec les représentants de la communauté, des comités thématiques (incendie, déchets, assainissement, eau…) chargés de prendre le relais de l’ONG à son départ. Ces comités seront les interlocuteurs des autorités locales, des opérateurs locaux et de la communauté pour les différents services.

Les impacts d’Eau et Vie en image : dans les quartiers d’intervention, les habitants s’approprient de plus en plus les projets d’Eau et Vie, prenant eux-mêmes des initiatives. Ainsi, des représentants de quartier ont spontanément proposé de se rencontrer régulièrement pour nettoyer les rues du quartier et fermer des puits illégaux. Ce type d’initiative civique n’existait pas avant l’intervention d’Eau et Vie.

L’implication des populations dans la mise en place de projets de développement est indispensable à la réalisation et à la pérennité des actions et contribue également au renforcement communautaire.

Les projets sont adaptés aux besoins des populations car réfléchis et élaborés avec la communauté, assurant la pérennité des actions.

L’estime de soi de la population est renforcée grâce au sentiment de satisfaction de la réussite du projet. L’impact sur les populations est considérable : consciente qu’elle peut activement participer à l’amélioration de ses conditions de vie, la communauté acquiert une motivation et un engouement pour se battre pour d’autres causes.