Non existing waste management systems

A precarious area often compares to an OPEN-AIR DUMPING SITE because of a lack of awareness from the inhabitants, of infrastructures and political will. Only commercial and residential neighborhoods benefit from a frequent collection of their waste organized by the municipality.
In precarious neighborhoods, waste is thrown outside, next to front doors, in rivers or in the sewage lines. Barely picked up, sometimes burnt, the waste tends to pile up and to smell pestilent, infecting the environment and water sources. It attracts vermin and is the source of all kinds of diseases. The waste piling up in precarious neighborhoods is a hurdle to the improvement of the living conditions to vulnerable populations.


Eau et Vie’s response

Eau et Vie’s activities on water and sanitation services give an entry point towards community mobilization on waste management..

Eau et Vie ORGANIZES AWARENESS RAISING ACTIVITIES, A PRIMARY WASTE COLLECTION SYSTEM andINSTALLS EQUIPMENT :

  • Awareness raising sessions on the environment and waste management (community clean-up days done by the inhabitants with a playful approach, school workshops, focus groups, sensitization to waste segregation and management…);
  • Installation and maintenance of public bins in the communities (under the supervision of volunteers from the neighborhood);
  • In partnership with local municipalities, organization of a primary waste collection system for an appropriate price for the population. The payment collection is done at the same time as for the water and sanitation services;
  • Action on the waste quantity reduction as well as waste recycling (recyclable and biodegradable), while involving the informal sector;
Advocacy work for the local authorities and operators to take over the waste collection system once viable.

Local Associations

The activities are implemented by the local associations Water and Life Philippines, Water and Life Bangladesh and Eau et Vie Côte d’Ivoire , in partnership with the communities, the municipalities and local and international experts on the matter.

“Pilot project of waste management”

In 2015, Eau et Vie started a pilot project of waste segregation and collection in Bangladesh based on a virtuous cycle involving the local actors. The waste collectors, locally employed, collect waste which has already been sorted out and put into specific bins in people’s houses. Thanks to a three-wheeled collection cycle, the waste collectors can go around the narrow street of the neighborhoods easily to collect waste in the clients’ houses and carry it to the transfer station, where the municipality’s services take over and transport the collected waste to the municipal dumping site. Eau et Vie’s team carry an important awareness raising work with the families so as to entice them into sorting out and giving away their waste to the collectors so as to protect the environment. By the end of 2017; 488 households benefitted of the service. It will become mandatory and be extended to all households by early 2018. The goal of a waste-free environment in Bhashantek is on its way!

Une gestion des déchets inexistante

Un quartier précaire s’apparente souvent à une DECHARGE A CIEL OUVERT : par manque de sensibilisation des populations, d’infrastructures et de volonté politique. Faute d’un système de collecte des déchets organisé et efficace, seuls les quartiers commerciaux et résidentiels voient leurs déchets collectés régulièrement par la municipalité.
Dans les quartiers précaires, les déchets sont jetés devant la porte, derrière la maison, dans la rivière ou les caniveaux. Rarement ramassés, parfois brûlés, ils s’amoncellent, dégagent une odeur pestilentielle, contaminent l’environnement et les sources d’eau, attirent toutes sortes de vermines et sont source de nombreuses maladies. L’entassement des déchets dans les quartiers précaires sont un frein à l’amélioration des conditions de vie de populations vulnérables.


La réponse d'Eau et Vie

Les actions d'Eau et Vie sur les questions d'eau et d'assainissement permettent de mobiliser les communautés sur la gestion des déchets.

Eau et Vie ORGANISE DES ACTIVITÉS DE SENSIBILISATION, UN SYSTÈME DE COLLECTE PRIMAIRE DES DÉCHETS et MET EN PLACE DES EQUIPEMENTS :

  • Campagnes de sensibilisation à l’environnement et à la gestion des déchets (nettoyage des rues par les habitants du quartier sur un mode ludique, ateliers dans les écoles, groupes de discussions, sensibilisation au tri, au rejet…) ;
  • Installation et maintenance de poubelles publiques au sein de la communauté (confiées à des habitants volontaires) ;
  • En partenariat avec les municipalités locales, organisation d’un service de collecte primaire des déchets à un coût adapté pour la population. La collecte des paiements se fait à domicile, en même temps que la collecte pour les services d’eau et d’assainissement;
  • Travail sur la réduction de la quantité de déchets et la valorisation des déchets (biodégradables et recyclables), en intégrant le secteur informel.
Plaidoyer auprès des autorités locales et des opérateurs locaux pour reprendre la gestion de ces quartiers à terme.

Associations locales

Les activités sont mises en place par les associations locales, Water and Life Philippines, Water and Life Bangladesh et Eau et Vie Côtes d’Ivoire , en partenariat avec les communautés, les mairies et des professionnels des secteurs locaux et internationaux.

« Projet pilote de gestion des déchets»

Depuis 2015, Eau et Vie a démarré le projet pilote au Bangladesh de tri et de collecte des déchets ménagers basé sur un cercle vertueux impliquant tous les acteurs locaux . Les éboueurs, employés localement, collectent à domicile les déchets que les familles ont préalablement triés et jetés dans des poubelles prévues à cet effet. Grâce à l’utilisation d’un cyclo-porteur, les éboueurs peuvent circuler aisément dans les ruelles étroites du quartier pour faire leur collecte chez les habitants et les acheminent jusqu’au centre de transfert, où les services de la ville prennent le relais en transportant les déchets jusqu’à la décharge municipale. Les équipes d’Eau et Vie effectuent un travail important de sensibilisation auprès des familles afin de susciter leur intérêt pour trier et remettre leurs déchets à nos collecteurs afin d’améliorer leur environnement. A fin 2017, 488 foyers bénéficient du service. Le service de collecte des déchets sera rendu obligatoire et étendu à l’ensemble des ménages début 2018. L’objectif d’un environnement sans déchet à Bhashantek est en marche !


Actualités

Ménage de Salcedo

100 personnes présentes pour nettoyer le bidonville !